Thank You to All Who Attended Our 30th Anniversary Key Awards

Posted on 10/05/2012 at 11:42 am

Last night, Bailey House kicked off its 30th Anniversary year with our annual Key Awards Celebration, at our landmark residence in Greenwich Village — Bailey-Holt House.  Many thanks to everyone who made the evening a smashing success!  We were deeply impressed by the continuing commitment to the struggle and the boundless generosity of all involved.

Congratulations to the honorees:

Dr. Angela Aidala

Associate Research Scientist at the Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health, for her tireless leadership in documenting the fight to recognize housing as a means of preventing the spread of HIV, which has paved the way for critical change in public policy.

Mr. David France

Journalist, director/producer of the documentary How to Survive a Plague and author of a forthcoming history of AIDS, for his remarkable chronicling of AIDS advocacy through exhaustive research and numerous articles in major publications like The New York Times.

The Robert Mapplethorpe Foundation

For its commitment to our annual Auction and Party, exceptional stewardship of Mapplethorpe’s unique artistic legacy and continued efforts to bring an end to the AIDS epidemic through funding for medical research.

Michael Ward Stout,  President of The Foundation’s Board of Directors, accepted the award on behalf of the Foundation. Mr. Stout is a leading  visual arts copyright lawyer and a partner at the firm  Stout Thomas & Johnson.

Mr. Carmen Marc Valvo

Renowned fashion designer and dedicated philanthropist, for his consistent support of our critical programs that serve people living with HIV/AIDS and other life-threatening illnesses, and his generosity to some of our city’s most vulnerable people.

Ms. Ivory T. LeGrande, 2012 Sharon L. Perkins Achievement Award

Bailey House resident and employee Ivory T. LeGrande exemplifies the spirit of Bailey House through dedicated advocacy and volunteerism on behalf of the families living at Schafer Hall. As a Bailey House employee, Ivory provides critical support that enhances our mission and the lives of our clients every day. The Sharon L. Perkins Achievement Award is in memory of our beloved and visionary  colleague Sharon Lorraine Perkins.

Particular thanks go out to the following supporters of Bailey House:

The Mapplethorpe Foundation and Michael Ward Stout; Bingham McCutchen; BTQ Financial; ACRIA; Aon; the Beth Israel Medical Center and Dr. Ellen Birenbaum; The Imperial Court of New York and Ray Deforest; Teri Agins; Nancy Bernstine, Esq.; Yoswein New York; Joy Tomchin; Joy Ingham; Amida Care; Bannon Consulting Services; the Reverend David Cockcroft; Evers Pharmacy; Executive Building Development NYC; S.J. Dodd; Thomas J. Farrell; Isaac Hager; HELP/PSI; Housing Works; Richard Israel; Karen Marx; Professionals for Nonprofits; Projects Plus, Inc.; Mary Ellen and Peter Rogers; Anne Schneider; Beth Sosin and Ted Poretz; Tristate Apartment Furnishers; Ted Dawson; and Dell Graphics.

Comments Off on Thank You to All Who Attended Our 30th Anniversary Key Awards

Comments are closed.